Dashboards & Visualizations

Does Splunk allow two users to collaborate at the same time using the same dashboard ?

maryamchar
Explorer

I have a question. Does Splunk allow at least two users to collaborate on the same dashboard ? If yes, can they collaborate and make changes to the dashboard at the same time? And will those changes be saved under the person who made the changes?

Thank you in advance! Please provide me with links if available

0 Karma
1 Solution

renjith_nair
Legend

@maryamchar,

Depending on the permissions , the dashboards can be set as

Private - only the user who has created the dashboard can view and edit. The dashboard will be saved under user directory on the disk.

Shared in app - The dashboard is available to other users in the app context where it was created. For example, if you create the dashboard in the Search and Reporting app, the dashboard is visible to other users in this context. Depending on their permissions, other users can edit the dashboard.

Visible in all apps : Available in all apps and depending on their permissions, other users can edit the dashboard

Further read : http://docs.splunk.com/Documentation/Splunk/7.2.0/Viz/DashboardPermissions

---
What goes around comes around. If it helps, hit it with Karma 🙂

View solution in original post

0 Karma

Vijeta
Influencer

Yes as @renjith.nair mentioned , based on permission of dashboards multiple users can collaborate on same dashboard. The changes will be saved under the owner of the dashboard and not under the last person who made the changes.

0 Karma

maryamchar
Explorer

Thank you @Vijeta and @renjith.nair!!
My question if they have permission to make changes, can two users collabrate and make changes at same time (like google docs) ?

0 Karma

brhicke747
Explorer

@maryamchar Did you ever get an answer to what happens to edits made simultaneously? As far as I know, edits at the same time are allowed. 

0 Karma

renjith_nair
Legend

@maryamchar,

Depending on the permissions , the dashboards can be set as

Private - only the user who has created the dashboard can view and edit. The dashboard will be saved under user directory on the disk.

Shared in app - The dashboard is available to other users in the app context where it was created. For example, if you create the dashboard in the Search and Reporting app, the dashboard is visible to other users in this context. Depending on their permissions, other users can edit the dashboard.

Visible in all apps : Available in all apps and depending on their permissions, other users can edit the dashboard

Further read : http://docs.splunk.com/Documentation/Splunk/7.2.0/Viz/DashboardPermissions

---
What goes around comes around. If it helps, hit it with Karma 🙂
0 Karma
Got questions? Get answers!

Join the Splunk Community Slack to learn, troubleshoot, and make connections with fellow Splunk practitioners in real time!

Meet up IRL or virtually!

Join Splunk User Groups to connect and learn in-person by region or remotely by topic or industry.

Get Updates on the Splunk Community!

SOC4Kafka - New Kafka Connector Powered by OpenTelemetry

The new SOC4Kafka connector, built on OpenTelemetry, enables the collection of Kafka messages and forwards ...

Rounding off the Splunk Dashboard Contest

What does a contest-winning Splunk dashboard look like? In this case, it isn't in a browser tab at all. It ...

A Four Part Event Series: AI + Observability: AI Agents, LLMs, Apps, & Infrastructure

AI + Observability: AI Agents, LLMs, Apps, & Infrastructure The rapid evolution of artificial intelligence ...