Dashboards & Visualizations

Dashboarding a csv file

Naskez
Engager

Hello splunk community,

I'm a newbie on splunk so i this maybe a basic question.

Basically I'm trying to do a piechart containing all the processes currently running. I managed (via powershell script) to generate a csv file containing this:

"Values","Count","Group","Name" "System.Collections.ArrayList","1","System.Collections.ObjectModel.Collection`1[System.Management.Automation.PSObject]","ApplicationFrameHost" "System.Collections.ArrayList","1","System.Collections.ObjectModel.Collection`1[System.Management.Automation.PSObject]","conhost" "System.Collections.ArrayList","3","System.Collections.ObjectModel.Collection`1[System.Management.Automation.PSObject]","csrss" "System.Collections.ArrayList","1","System.Collections.ObjectModel.Collection`1[System.Management.Automation.PSObject]","dllhost"

When forwarded, splunk couldn't find fields associated with the file, even when i tried to extract fields manually, splunk confused field name with data.

(Objective: Pie chart containing the name of process and the number of its processes.)

Labels (1)
0 Karma
1 Solution

niketn
Legend

Your sample data seem to work out of the box for me. Only issue that I see is that you do not have Time field in your data, which implies you need to set Time to CURRENT for each csv file event.

Following is the props.conf setting for a dummy sourcetype I created to ingest your data.

[ sample_data_csv ]
DATETIME_CONFIG=CURRENT
SHOULD_LINEMERGE=false
LINE_BREAKER=([\r\n]+)
BREAK_ONLY_BEFORE_DATE=null
NO_BINARY_CHECK=true
CHARSET=UTF-8
INDEXED_EXTRACTIONS=csv
KV_MODE=none
category=Custom
description=Comma-separated value format. Set header and other settings in "Delimited Settings"
disabled=false
pulldown_type=true
HEADER_FIELD_LINE_NUMBER=1