Community Blog
Get the latest updates on the Splunk Community, including member experiences, product education, events, and more!

How I Instrumented a Rust Application Without Knowing Rust

theletterf
Splunk Employee
Splunk Employee

As a technical writer, I often have to edit or create code snippets for Splunk's distributions of OpenTelemetry instrumentation. This requires some basic knowledge of each programming language and its development environment, as well as engineering support.

When I had to document how to get data in from Rust applications, I faced an unusually tough challenge. How could I create a snippet for a language I was utterly unfamiliar with and for which we lack a Splunk distribution? The examples in the official OpenTelemetry repository didn't work out of the box.

The answer proved simpler than I expected. While there is no Splunk distribution of OpenTelemetry Rust yet, you can still use the official OpenTelemetry crates for Rust to send traces and spans to the OpenTelemetry Collector, and from there to Splunk Observability Cloud.

My steps were as follows:

1. Install the Splunk Distribution of OpenTelemetry Collector.
  2. Configure your cargo.toml file with the required dependencies.
  3. Instrument your Rust code manually, including resource attributes.
  4. Build and run the application.
  5. Search for your traces in Observability Cloud.

1. Install the Splunk Distribution of OpenTelemetry Collector

First, I needed a way of collecting and forwarding trace data to Splunk Observability Cloud. The Splunk Distribution of OpenTelemetry Collector does just that (among other things), as it includes defaults tailored to Splunk’s ingest endpoints. See Install the Collector in our docs for more information.

Once the Collector was up and running, I got lots of interesting metrics for my Windows box in Infrastructure Monitoring, like CPU and memory usage and which processes were running:

im-panel-splunk.png

2. Define the dependencies