All Apps and Add-ons

Splunk App for Stream: How to find the total amount of data being indexed from forwarders for a 24 hour period?

helius
Path Finder

Hola,

To avoid filling up our license, I'd like to find the total amount of data being indexed from the forwarders for a 24 hour period. I'm new to my environment, splunk, and was not sure where to start. Anyone got any suggestions?

0 Karma
1 Solution

mdickey_splunk
Splunk Employee
Splunk Employee

This may not be as accurate as the other methods, but as an alternative you can also just run a search on the raw events to get a feel for index usage:

source=stream* | eval l=len(_raw) | stats sum(l) as BytesSum | eval TotalMB=round(BytesSum/(1024*1024), 0) | fields - BytesSum

(for 1 day, use something like "Yesterday" or "Last 24 hours" for the search time range)

View solution in original post

mdickey_splunk
Splunk Employee
Splunk Employee

This may not be as accurate as the other methods, but as an alternative you can also just run a search on the raw events to get a feel for index usage:

source=stream* | eval l=len(_raw) | stats sum(l) as BytesSum | eval TotalMB=round(BytesSum/(1024*1024), 0) | fields - BytesSum

(for 1 day, use something like "Yesterday" or "Last 24 hours" for the search time range)

helius
Path Finder

Sweet, exactly what I was looking for. I'll study the string and see what you did. Appreciate it!

0 Karma

mdickey_splunk
Splunk Employee
Splunk Employee

Search adapted from http://answers.splunk.com/answers/168412/how-to-determine-index-volume-by-sourcetype.html:

earliest=-1d@d latest=@d  index=_internal source=*license_usage.log* type=Usage st=stream*
 | stats sum(b) AS Bytes by st 
 | sort -Bytes

I just added "st=stream*" to only include data generated by stream.

0 Karma

helius
Path Finder

Thanks. However, there is no type=Usage in any of the license_usage.logs in my index on any of the indexers or even the search head.

0 Karma

jsie_splunk
Splunk Employee
Splunk Employee