All Apps and Add-ons

How do you install Splunk Add-on for Microsoft PowerShell?

snix
Communicator

I am new to Splunk and am setting up Splunk App for Windows Infrastructure and one of the requirements is to install the Splunk Add-on for Microsoft PowerShell. So I found the download here:
https://splunkbase.splunk.com/app/1477/

And it says to install it on the universal forwarder but not sure how to do that and there seems to be little no no actual documentation on how to do it as all, was able to find is a page outlining the .NET requirements but not much else. All I have is the extracted folder from the download but now I have no idea what to do with it.

1 Solution

rpille_splunk
Splunk Employee
Splunk Employee

Your installation on a single server is just fine -- no need for forwarders if you are just testing everything on one machine.

The error that you are seeing arises because of missing prerequisites. Please make sure you have reviewed all the requirements here: http://docs.splunk.com/Documentation/AddOns/latest/MSPowerShell/Hardwareandsoftwarerequirements

View solution in original post

rpille_splunk
Splunk Employee
Splunk Employee

Your installation on a single server is just fine -- no need for forwarders if you are just testing everything on one machine.

The error that you are seeing arises because of missing prerequisites. Please make sure you have reviewed all the requirements here: http://docs.splunk.com/Documentation/AddOns/latest/MSPowerShell/Hardwareandsoftwarerequirements

snix
Communicator

Yep I found that too and I was missing .NET 3.5 since the issues was related to Powershell2 and that was what was in the error. I thought since I was on a server 2012 that all I needed was 4.5 but I just finished installing 3.5 and reset Splunk and the error didn't come back!

I am testing the Splunk install on one server but I am accessing logs on three remote AD servers so do I need the Powershell add-on installed on all three AD servers?

0 Karma