All Apps and Add-ons

AWS Cloudfront

davidhofmann
Explorer

I've recently setup Splunk Add-on for Amazon Web Services and noticed that there was no props file for importing AWS Cloudfront logs from the S3 buckets. I'm fairly new to Splunk but took a shot at trying to build one which so far hasn't work out. So I figure I reach out here and see if anyone has built a props file for Cloudfront?

rarsan_splunk
Splunk Employee
Splunk Employee

Since AWS CloudFront access logs use W3C extended log file format, the following works fine when ingesting them as raw files:
props.conf

[cloudfront-access]
INDEXED_EXTRACTIONS = W3C

This enables automatic header-based field extractions by Splunk at index-time.
Keep in mind this means Splunk will store all these fields in the index, thereby increasing the size of the searchable index.

However:
As of current Splunk 6.3 release, the above header-based indexed extractions is not supported with modular inputs (vs one shot or monitored files). Unfortunately, importing logs from S3 is commonly done via modular input. So I found the following configs for search-time extractions to be a reasonable alternative (with one caveat below):

props.conf:

[cloudfront-access-modinput]
NO_BINARY_CHECK = 1
SHOULD_LINEMERGE = false
TRANSFORMS-1trash = filter_preamble
REPORT-1 = cloudfront_fields

transforms.conf:

# Field Extractions for CloudFront Access Logs (for modular input only; otherwise use w3c)
[cloudfront_fields]
DELIMS = "\t"
FIELDS = date,time,x-edge-location,sc-bytes,c-ip,cs-method,cs-host,cs-uri-stem,sc-status,cs-referer,cs-user-agent,cs-uri-query,cs-cookie,x-edge-result-type,x-edge-request-id,x-host-header,cs-protocol,cs-bytes,time-taken,x-forwarded-for,ssl-protocol,ssl-cipher,x-edge,response-result-type

[filter_preamble]
DEST_KEY = queue
REGEX = (?m)^\#(Version|Fields)
FORMAT = nullQueue