Alerting

How to set up Splunk alert based on average of a field?

fhcat9

I am new to Splunk so pardon me if my question is too naive. I want to set up a Splunk alert if the average of a field is above a threshold. My search is as follows:

sourcetype="somesourcetype" search phase | stats avg(f1) as Average

If I use

sourcetype="somesourcetype" search phase | timechart avg(f1) as Average span=1h

I can see the table listing the average of field f1. But with stats avg(f1) I do not get anything under statistics panel and I am not sure how to set up an alert if average of f1 is above 100ms.

0 Karma
1 Solution

kmaron
Motivator

assuming your field f1 contains a numeric value in ms you should be able to do the following search:

sourcetype="somesourcetype" search phase | stats avg(f1) as Average | where Average > 100

And then set your alert to trigger when the Number of Results is > 0

If you specifically want an hourly average like the timechart without actually using the timechart command you can use this search instead:

sourcetype="somesourcetype" search phase | bucket _time span=1h | stats avg(f1) as Average by _time | where Average > 100

View solution in original post

0 Karma

PowerPacked
Builder

Please use trim command to remove the ms in the field values.

sourcetype="somesourcetype" search phase | eval Newf1=trim(f1,"ms") | stats avg(Newf1) as Average

& and do this for Alert

sourcetype="somesourcetype" search phase | eval Newf1=trim(f1,"ms") | stats avg(Newf1) as Average | where Average > 100

Thanks

0 Karma

fhcat9

Thanks, this is what I needed!
But since kmaron's answer was yesterday and it indeed inspired me, I picked it as the answer.

0 Karma

kmaron
Motivator

assuming your field f1 contains a numeric value in ms you should be able to do the following search:

sourcetype="somesourcetype" search phase | stats avg(f1) as Average | where Average > 100

And then set your alert to trigger when the Number of Results is > 0