Splunk Search

Using result of one search for another

splunk_new1
Explorer

Hi all! 

I am relatively new to splunk and I am trying to use the results of one search for another search,

So...

index=index1 <conditions> or index=index2<conditions>
| stats count by src servname
|fields src
|rename src as ip 

Results: 
ip

in index3, the field is called ip, 

I would like to based off the returned ip list above ^:

index=index3  ip="1.1.1.1" or ip="2.2.2.2" or ip="3.3.3.3" or ip="4.4.4.4" 
|stats count description by ip

But I cant seem to do it, when I make use of format or subsearches like 

index=index3
[ search (index=index1 or index=index2 ... 
]

| stats count description by ip

it seems to return me results of all ips and their description in just index3. The first subsearch results "1.1.1.1" "2.2.2.2" "3.3.3.3" etc does not get parsed into the index3 search as a variable. How can i make this happen? 

*Pardon my explanation if its too lengthy

Labels (2)
0 Karma
1 Solution

bowesmana
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

the 'or' must be in CAPS in your search, otherwise it's just a word, so your subsearch is probably not providing any IP addresses.

If you add 

| format

to the end of the subsearch and run the subsearch on its own, you will see what the return from the subsearch looks like.

Also, your subsearch is doing this

|fields src
|rename src as ip 

there is little point in splitting by servname, as you may end up with duplicate ips in the return to the outer search, so remove that.

View solution in original post

splunk_new1
Explorer

Thanks for your response! Yes, I did make use of the OR command. 

What's happening right now is, when I used 

(index=index1 (conditions)) OR (index=index2 (conditions))
| fields src
| rename src as ip
| format 

i get the results of ( ( ip="1.1.1.1" ) OR (ip ="2.2.2.2")  etc... just like how I want it. 

If I copy that result and manually perform a 

index= index3  ( ( ip="1.1.1.1" ) OR (ip ="2.2.2.2"))