Security

curl (35) error Rest API

zackh123
Path Finder

When I try to run this command in REST API

curl -k -vvv -u user:pass -d "search=savedsearch %22My%20Search%22" https://myserver:80/servicesNS/user/search/search/jobs/export

I get this error...

* About to connect() to myserver port 80 (#0)
*   Trying 1.1.1.1... connected
* successfully set certificate verify locations:
*   CAfile: none
  CApath: /etc/ssl/certs
* SSLv3, TLS handshake, Client hello (1):
* SSLv3, TLS alert, Server hello (2):
* error:1408F10B:SSL routines:SSL3_GET_RECORD:wrong version number
* Closing connection #0
curl: (35) error:1408F10B:SSL routines:SSL3_GET_RECORD:wrong version number

I edited some fields for my privacy.

Does anyone know how to fix this? I'm rather new at Splunk and Rest API

0 Karma
1 Solution

Ayn
Legend

The first thing I react to when reading your question is that you're trying to connect to an SSL enabled service on port 80. This is not a very common setup - 80 is usually reserved for regular HTTP services.

Also, even if your Splunk instance's user web interface IS listening with SSL on port 80, the port you need to use for calling the REST API is the splunkd port, not the splunkweb port. The splunkd is by default 8089.

View solution in original post

0 Karma

o_calmels
Communicator

Hi,

For next users geting this problem after upgrade to splunk 6.2 or later, Splunk now allow only tls v1.2 as ssl version (http://docs.splunk.com/Documentation/Splunk/6.6.3/Security/SetyourSSLversion).
I had rest api from a late curl program, and had to update curl.
Then the curl command must specify sslversion:

curl --tlsv1.2 -k -vvv -u user:pass -d "search=savedsearch %22My%20Search%22" https://myserver:80/servicesNS/user/search/search/jobs/export

Hope that helps.

Olivier.

0 Karma

Ayn
Legend