Splunk Search

Why are exclusions using lookup failing?

rgarcia
Engager

I'm looking signatures in snort but I want to exclude some of the signature IDs by using inputlookup, but it doesn't seem to exclude them.

My search

index=security-snort sourcetype="snort" | search NOT [ | inputlookup SnortSigEx.csv ] | stats values(name) as name by signature | dedup signature

Labels (1)
Tags (1)
0 Karma

to4kawa
Ultra Champion

index=security-snort sourcetype="snort" | search NOT [ | inputlookup SnortSigEx.csv | fields signature | format] | stats values(name) as name by signature | dedup signature

0 Karma

rgarcia
Engager

Thanks for replying, but unfortunetely I'm still seeing the IDs in the search results...which are supposed to be excluded. 

Does the lookup file need to be in a certain format (header names)? Permission are set to all apps and for admin and power users

Note: I'm an Admin

0 Karma

to4kawa
Ultra Champion

please provide CSV and search detail.

0 Karma

rgarcia
Engager

Search 

index=security-snort sourcetype="snort" | search NOT [ | inputlookup SnortSigEx.csv | fields signature | format] | stats values(name) as name by signature | dedup signature

snort.PNG

0 Karma

gcusello
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

Hi @rgarcia,

I suppose that the field name of the signature ID is signature in both the security-snort index and  lookup, in this case try, please, something like this:

index=security-snort sourcetype="snort" NOT [ | inputlookup SnortSigEx.csv | fields signature ] 
| stats values(name) as name by signature

If instead tyhe field name s are different and you have  ID in the security-snort index and fields1 in lookup, in this case try, please, try this:

index=security-snort sourcetype="snort" NOT [ | inputlookup SnortSigEx.csv | rename column1 AS ID | fields ID ] 
| stats values(name) as name by ID

Ciao.

Giuseppe

0 Karma

rgarcia
Engager