Splunk Search

Separate Fields

jaykay

Hi,

I'm new to splunk, so please excuse the basic question. I have some data in the following format:
Field1=abcdefg;Field2=12345;field3=98373
Field1=abcdefg&Field2=12345;field3=98373

Note the different separators. I can quite easily extract one of these using the following command:

... | rex field=_raw "Field1=(?<Field1>.*)Field2=(?<Field2>.*)"Field3=(?<Field3>.*)

I thought I could expand on this, in order to extract both of them at the same time, so I tried this, but it does not seem to work:

... | rex field=_raw "Field1[;&](?<Field1>.*)Field2[;&](?<Field2>.*)"Field3[;&](?<Field3>.*)

Could someone please help with this? I imagine there probably is a better way to do this, but I am still trying different ways. Is there a way to just give my delimiters and have it extract everything in it's own field?

Thanks

Tags (2)
0 Karma

lguinn2
Legend

Field1=abcdefg&Field2=12345;field3=98373

does not match any of your regular expressions, as field3 is lower case in the above example. I will assume that you meant:

Field1=abcdefg&Field2=12345;Field3=98373

instead. Now your first regular expression will almost work, although it has a spurious " in it. The second regular expression has lost the = and put the field separator in the wrong places.
You could do this:

yoursearchhere
| rex  "Field1=(?<Field1>.*)[;&]Field2=(?<Field2>.*)[;&]Field3=(?<Field3>.*)"

Here is another answer that may be helpful:

http://splunk-base.splunk.com/answers/30409/splunk-field-seperators

Here is an example of using DELIMS in transforms.conf. It applies to an event where field/value pairs are separated by ';' symbols, and the field names are separated from their corresponding values by '=' symbols:

[pipe_eq]
DELIMS = ";", "="

You can find out more about DELIMS here. Also look at the documentation for transforms.conf

jaykay