Splunk Search

Search split value with spaces

oferprtz
Path Finder

Hi,

Newbie here 🙂
trying to search value that actually split with spaces:

DEBUG PerformanceMonitor [(null)] - PerformanceMonitor resource: DataBase elapsed : 3250 details: DataBase:
DEBUG PerformanceMonitor [(null)] - PerformanceMonitor resource: DataBase elapsed : 11204 details: DataBase:

im trying to create a search or chart that will min and max the values of the elapsed.
since the values are seperated with spaces i cannot achieve that.

any ideas?

thanks,
ofer

0 Karma
1 Solution

ranjyotiprakash
Communicator

you can use the following command rex command to extract the elapsed field :

.... | rex field=_raw ".*\s+elapsed\s+:\s+(?<elapsed>\d+)\s"

and then use timechart, table, stats etc commands based upon your requirement.

View solution in original post

oferprtz
Path Finder

Thank you! found the issue, it was set as wrong sourcetype, now its working perfect!

thanks!

0 Karma

aholzer
Motivator

I'd have to take a look at your field extraction definition, but I'm guessing that you stored it for the wrong sourcetype, or you have a typo.

The other thing that could be happening is that your "elapsed" field occurs so rarely that it isn't one of your "interesting fields", since it doesn't appear in 50% or more of your events. In which case you would see it if you clicked on the "edit" button next to "selected fields" and look for "elapsed".

ranjyotiprakash
Communicator

you can use the following command rex command to extract the elapsed field :

.... | rex field=_raw ".*\s+elapsed\s+:\s+(?<elapsed>\d+)\s"

and then use timechart, table, stats etc commands based upon your requirement.

oferprtz
Path Finder

great stuff ranjyotiprakash! seems that the search works flawless, now ive got 2 methods of use!

thanks!

0 Karma

aholzer
Motivator

@oferprtz, what @ranjyotiprakash says here is also a good method. I simply prefer creating a field extraction, for a couple of reasons: