Splunk Search

Search performance benefit from field inclusion versus exclusion

johnjarvis
Explorer

Hi all,

First, I do apologise if this is clearly answered in Answers or Documentation; I have spent some time in both, and have still to find an answer.

Second, I am very new to Splunk. In fact, this question comes directly from Fundamentals One; a throw-away comment in Module 8, to be specific.

And so, my question: on the subject of search performance, and field extraction in particular, the instructor states that field inclusion can provide a boost, as it occurs before field extraction; he then goes on to say that field exclusion offers no such benefit, as it occurs after field extraction.

I'm trying to wrap my head around why this is the case; that is, why field exclusion differs so markedly from field inclusion, in terms of what Splunk knows about the entire search at the point of field extraction.

Thanks! And apologies for any stumbles re lexicon/vocabulary.

John

0 Karma
1 Solution

isoutamo
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

Hi

If I understood correctly you are asking that why

| fields a, b, c

performs better than

| fields - d, e, f

The reason is that in 1st cases splunk knows what to look instead of 2nd where it needs to look every possible extractions and then remove those unwanted ones. You can imagine which kind of difference it could be e.g. for hundreds of fields.

R. Ismo

View solution in original post

0 Karma

isoutamo
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

Hi

If I understood correctly you are asking that why

| fields a, b, c

performs better than

| fields - d, e, f

The reason is that in 1st cases splunk knows what to look instead of 2nd where it needs to look every possible extractions and then remove those unwanted ones. You can imagine which kind of difference it could be e.g. for hundreds of fields.

R. Ismo

0 Karma

johnjarvis
Explorer