Splunk Search

Search for sudo (linux_secure does not exist?)

jackjack
Path Finder

Hi all,

I am trying to setup some sort of dashboard to view a list of sudo commands by server. 

I started with the IT Essentials Learn App which recommends this command:

index=* sourcetype=linux_secure process=sudo COMMAND=* host=*
| rex "COMMAND=(?<raw_command>.*)"
| eval COMMAND=coalesce(raw_command, COMMAND)
| table _time host USER PWD COMMAND

This command did not work for me so I started playing with it a bit. I realized that the 

sourcetype=linux_secure

does not exist. 

My understanding is that the splunk add-on for unix and linux is supposed to apply this sourcetype. I verified my configuration and didn't see anything to modify so I went ahead and looked at the $SPLUNK/etc/apps/Splunk_TA_nix/default/inputs.conf file. I cannot find a single instance of sourcetype=linux_secure in that config file so I don't think that sourcetype is being applied to any sources. Has linux_secure been deprecated or do I simply need to modify my local/inputs.conf file with something?

Does anyone have a recommended way to perform this search? I have tried a number of methods but am struggling to get what I need.

Labels (1)
Tags (1)
0 Karma
1 Solution

jackjack
Path Finder

IT Essentials Learn App led me down the wrong path. This is the search I am using which appears to work just fine. I think linux_secure has been deprecated seeing as it does not show up anywhere in the default config files (and these list the default sourcetype for each source so clearly it's no longer being used as a default sourcetype with the unix add on).

index="*" host="*" source="/var/log/auth.log" tag="authentication" process="sudo" tag="success"
| table _time host user source process tag _raw

View solution in original post

0 Karma

jackjack
Path Finder