Splunk Search

Monitoring several log files with a specified index, why are searches on the index in Splunk Web not returning any data?

omuelle1
Communicator

Hi guys,

I am fairly new to splunk, and I am trying to get it to monitor a couple of log files on some app servers.

I have created the apps needed and also created an index. However, when I try to use the search function in Splunk Web and use that index, it is not pulling data.

This is my inputs.conf file:

[monitor:///tibco/apps/tra/domain/abc/application/logs]
sourcetype = tibco
index = tibco
#ignoreOlderThan = 7d
disabled = false
host = $host1

[monitor:///tibco/apps/tra/domain/abc/application/logs/855EDI-855EDI.log]
sourcetype = tibco
index = tibco
#ignoreOlderThan = 7d
disabled = false
host = $host2

[monitor:///tibco/apps/tra/domain/abc/application/logs]
sourcetype = tibco
index = tibco
#ignoreOlderThan = 7d
disabled = false
host = $host3

[monitor:///tibco/apps/tra/domain/abc/application/logs/*.log]
sourcetype = tibco
index = tibco
#ignoreOlderThan = 7d
disabled = false
host = $host4

When I try:

./splunk list monitor it tells me that these folders are being monitored

I also tried and changed the permissions.

Also when I give this search:

source="/tibco/apps/tra/domain/abc/application/logs/*"

it is actually pulling data, but not when I give index = tibco like it works for my other applications,

Thank you for you help,

Oliver

Tags (3)
0 Karma
1 Solution

woodcock
Esteemed Legend

You need to bounce all Splunk instances on your forwarders so that the latest changes to inputs.conf are re-run. I assume the problem is that you forgot to specify index=tibco the last time that you changed the configs so Splunk picked something on its own.

View solution in original post

woodcock
Esteemed Legend