Splunk Search

Monitor File Count and Age within a folder without indexing

jreagan

Im a Splunk newb and i am trying to find the best way to use Splunk to monitor an FTP Home Folder. I do not care about the contents of the file and prefer to not have their contents in Splunk since they contain HIPPA data.

I need to monitor how many files are in the folder and how old they are so i can be alerted if a file is left in there for a long time as well as if the number of files pass a threshold.

Tags (4)
0 Karma
1 Solution

dflodstrom
Builder

I think a scripted input would be useful for this task. Take the output of a command like $ls -l and index it. Extract the output into appropriate fields and Splunk it.

View solution in original post

daverodgers
Explorer

Just to finish off what I have ended up doing. Our splunk environment is windows based not linux.

so I created this script which is batch file that runs every 5 mins as a windows scheduled task. This runs on the splunk server. but i use a network path in the batch file so i can count remote directories.

@ECHO OFF
SETLOCAL 
SETLOCAL ENABLEDELAYEDEXPANSION
SET count=0 
for %%o IN ("\\network\folder\location\*.*") DO ( 
      echo %%o 
      SET /A count=count + 1 
)
net time \\%computername% |find "Current time" >> c:\count\countfiles.txt
echo dataareaid=UK >> c:\count\countfiles.txt
echo currentcount=%count% >> c:\count\countfiles.txt
ENDLOCAL ENABLEDELAYEDEXPANSION 
ENDLOCAL

this outputs the timestamp (net time) and the count result to the txt file (countfiles.txt). i use the double arrow >> to append the results each time it runs.

I then created a new data input > file input in splunk that index's this countfiles.txt file.

Splunk automatically picked up the timestamp and created the correct event rows for me.

because i put "currentcount=" in the batch file, splunk identifies that as a custom field so i can search on it.

When creating the input i created a new sourcetype called "filecount".