Splunk Search

Joining logs on a field

jeffastorey

I have several log messages that are joined by a single field, id - each of the messages will include that field. What I would like to do is search all log messages for a particular term, and for any that match, return all of the log messages with those ids. For example, if I had the following messages:

id: 1, message: 'hello'
id: 1, message: 'world'

If my term is 'hello', I would want to return both messages with id 1 since one of the messages with id1 contains the term 'hello'.

I'm still pretty new to splunk querying, so any help here would be appreciated. Thanks!

Tags (2)
0 Karma
1 Solution

jeremiahc4
Builder

jeffastorey

Thanks, this should be a good start. Appreciate the help.

0 Karma

jeffastorey

I can't yet post a comment to your answer due to lack of points, but it looks like that alternative only works for aggregating stats, not seeing the raw events - is that correct?

0 Karma

jeremiahc4
Builder

Here is the alternative which is said to be more efficient.

http://answers.splunk.com/answers/53748/alternative-to-transaction-command.html

jeremiahc4
Builder

In this particular example it is just determining the transaction duration, and even in martin_mueller's response to the following thread it still seems to create a new view of the data which I'd modify to my taste...

http://answers.splunk.com/answers/133288/transactions-grouping-actions-and-matching-on-multiple-fiel...

something like;

| stats range(_time) as duration first(myfield) as myfield by transactionID 

But I don't see a way to then search that for the string "hello". You may have to use the transaction command if you want to do post-transaction searching. Hopefully someone can correct me on that and show us both how to use the stats command to do so.

0 Karma

jeremiahc4
Builder

The transaction command is a start, though I think there's a more efficient way to do it.