Splunk Search

Is it possible to filter Events by condition and count the left over events per day?

therrmann5

Hello Folks,

I am new to splunk and try to create a search that displays me all Emails that was send 6 Weeks after a specific Date.

At the moment I am lacking the knowledge how to filter the events by comparing to timestamps without losing necessary fields for the following aggregation.

In pseudo SQL I would do something like that:

select ROUND(COUNT(*) / 6WEEKS) FROM MAIL as mail 
JOIN Event as event ON event.ID = mail.ID where event.createdAt + 6WEEKS <= mail.createdAt;

Basically I am interested in the number of Mails that reaches me per day 6 Weeks after an specific Meetup took place. Somebody has an idea?

0 Karma

DalJeanis
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

Probably, the pseudo-SQL is the reason you haven't got any response yet. It's better to use plain language around here, and to tell us what your splunk records look like rather than telling us how you'd code an extract in another language.

Let's suppose your "events" are in an index called "myevents" and have a field called "CreatedAT" that contains the date of the event, a unique EventID called "ID" and a field called "EventDesc" that describes the event. So, this would make a table of the eventIDs, their event date, and description. Let's assume the event date is stored in the CreatedAT field in "MM/DD/YYYY" format.

index=myevents 
| eval EventDate=strptime(CreatedAT,"%m/%d/%Y")
| table EventDate ID EventDesc 
| sort 0 EventDate 
| rename ID as EventID