Splunk Search

Incorrect Rex Expression

IRHM73
Motivator

Hi, I wonder whether someone could help me please.

I'm trying to put together a rex to extract the First Name from the data below.

{"matchingDataset":{"surnames":[{"value":"Smith","verified":true}],"gender":{"value":"MALE","verified":true},"dateOfBirth":{"value":"1973-12-26","verified":true},"firstName":{"value":"John","verified":true},"addresses":[{"verified":true,"postCode":"AB1 1BC","lines":["1 A Street","A Town","GB"]}],"middleNames":{"value":"john","verified":true}},"hashedPid":"123","matchId":"_123","levelOfAssurance":"LEVEL_2"}

From guidance I received from a post I made here I've been trying to come up with a suitable solution as shown below.

"\"firstName\":\"{\"\"value\":\"(?<idaFName>[^\"]+)"

Unfortunately, although I'm not receiving any error message, I'm not able to extract the information I need.

I've tried using Regex101 yesterday afternoon and this morning without success, but I admit I am a complete novice when it comes to regex.

I just wondered whether someone could look at this please and let me know where I've gone wrong.

Many thanks and kind regards

Chris

0 Karma
1 Solution

tom_frotscher
Builder

Hi,

you simply put some extra " signs in your regex around the { that you do not need.

Try this:

| rex "\"firstName\":{\"value\":\"(?<idaFName>[^\"]+)"

View solution in original post

MuS
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

Hi IRHM73,

based on the provided examples this will match:

\"firstName\":\{\"value\":\"(?<idaFName>[^\"]*)

This is the pure regex so to use it in Splunk use it this way:

base search here | rex "\"firstName\":\{\"value\":\"(?<idaFName>[^\"]*)" | do more foo here

But...this looks like JSON? Have you tried spath http://docs.splunk.com/Documentation/Splunk/6.3.0/SearchReference/Spath or KV_MODE=JSON in props.conf

Hope this helps ...

cheers, MuS

0 Karma

IRHM73
Motivator