Splunk Search

How to write a search to correlate data from multiple indexes?

sunitachan

Hello All,
I am very new to Splunk.
Can someone help me with this use case please:

I have to create a search which should take an IP coming from a data source A and take that IP go to a file grab some info against that IP (like host name/location) sitting in index B. So being newbie I think I can do a search for IP
index=A IP=xxx.xxx.xx.xxx
what should be the second part of the search?
Any help is appreciated!

Tags (2)
0 Karma
1 Solution

MuS
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

Hi sunitachan,

This is maybe difficult to understand at first, but take a look at this answer http://answers.splunk.com/answers/129424/how-to-compare-fields-over-multiple-sourcetypes-without-joi... to get an idea hoe this can be done.

Happy splunking ...

cheers, MuS

View solution in original post

0 Karma

aalanisr26
Path Finder

index A
ip=1.1.1.1 myfield=x
ip=1.1.1.2 myfield=y

index B
ip=1.1.1.1 name=Adrian
ip=1.1.1.2 name=Alanis

index =A OR index= B |transaction ip | table ip, myfield, name
1.1.1.1, x, Adrian
1.1.1.2, y, Alanis

0 Karma

damode
Motivator

How would you write a query if ip is named as client_ip in index B ? basically if same field value has different field name in another index .

0 Karma

MuS
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust
 ... | eval correlation_field=case(isnotnull(ip), ip, isnotnull(client_ip), client_ip, 1=1, "unknown")
 | stats values(*) AS * by correlation_field

cheers, MuS

0 Karma

damode
Motivator

Hi MuS,

In my two indexes,

index=a
host=system
action=deleted
userid
ip

index=b
client_ip
sender

I am trying to figure out a query that will match ip from index A with client_ip of index B and merge results giving userid, ip sender and action as tables.

I have tried below query, but it only gave me results from index a