Splunk Search

How to search for an id where its column values does not include a certain value

amanda_dg
Engager

Hi everyone, 

I am new to SPLUNK and I am trying to search for distinct IDs where its PRODUCT column does not include certain value.

For example. If I assume I have the following table called TABLE1:

IDPRODUCTPHONE
1A999999
2A888888
2B888888
1C999999
3D777777
3C777777
3B777777
4B666666
4D666666
5A555555
5B555555
5D555555

What I want is the following output when I want to look for IDs where its Product column values does not equal C:

IDPHONE

How to write the search query in splunk?  pls help 🙂

Labels (6)
0 Karma
1 Solution

bowesmana
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

This will do that - I assume that the last 55555 should have the extra 5 at the end

| makeresults
| eval _raw="ID	PRODUCT	PHONE
1	A	999999
2	A	888888
2	B	888888
1	C	999999
3	D	777777
3	C	777777
3	B	777777
4	B	666666
4	D	666666
5	A	555555
5	B	555555
5	D	555555"
| multikv forceheader=1
| table ID PRODUCT PHONE
| stats values(PRODUCT) as PRODUCTS by ID PHONE
| where isnull(mvfind(PRODUCTS, "C"))
| fields - PRODUCTS

You can run this search and it will show you that output - the bit that does the work is from the stats command

View solution in original post

0 Karma

bowesmana
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

This will do that - I assume that the last 55555 should have the extra 5 at the end

| makeresults
| eval _raw="ID	PRODUCT	PHONE
1	A	999999
2	A	888888
2	B	888888
1	C	999999
3	D	777777
3	C	777777
3	B	777777
4	B	666666
4	D	666666
5	A	555555
5	B	555555
5	D	555555"
| multikv forceheader=1
| table ID PRODUCT PHONE
| stats values(PRODUCT) as PRODUCTS by ID PHONE
| where isnull(mvfind(PRODUCTS, "C"))
| fields - PRODUCTS

You can run this search and it will show you that output - the bit that does the work is from the stats command

0 Karma

amanda_dg
Engager

Where to include the index and source type? 

0 Karma

bowesmana
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust