Splunk Search

How to read data from two different indexes?

splkjk
Explorer

Hello Team, I'm new to splunk, trying to get some insight/help for the below issue

I'm trying to read data from 2 different indexes and create a consolidated table. The scenarios here is the field values are same but the field names are different.

index="itsi_grouped_alerts" source="ABC" sourcetype=itsi_notable:group | where itsi_group_id="8a84c088-ba86-4d0a"

index="itsi_notable_audit" source="Notable Event Audit" sourcetype=itsi_notable:audit event_id="8a84c088-ba86-4d0a"

When i try to use a join command, doesn't gives any error.

Appreciate your assistance

Labels (5)
0 Karma
1 Solution

paksoi
Engager

You should be able to do it with a join-command. Can you show us what you've tried?

One way to go about it would be to rename either of the fields so that both fields have the same name:

index="itsi_grouped_alerts" source="ABC" sourcetype=itsi_notable:group 
| where itsi_group_id="8a84c088-ba86-4d0a"
| stats values(*) as * by itsi_group_id
| join itsi_group_id 
    [ search index="itsi_notable_audit" source="Notable Event Audit" sourcetype=itsi_notable:audit event_id="8a84c088-ba86-4d0a"
    | stats values(*) as * by event_id
    | rename event_id as itsi_group_id ]

Alternatively, you can keep the original names and use the where clause in the join-command:

| join left=L right=R where L.itsi_group_id = R.event_id
    [ search index="itsi_notable_audit" source="Notable Event Audit" sourcetype=itsi_notable:audit event_id="8a84c088-ba86-4d0a"
    | stats values(*) as * by event_id ]

See the documentation for more information on the join-command.

View solution in original post

paksoi
Engager

You should be able to do it with a join-command. Can you show us what you've tried?

One way to go about it would be to rename either of the fields so that both fields have the same name:

| join itsi_group_id 
    | stats values(*) as * by event_id
    | rename event_id as itsi_group_id ]