Splunk Search

How to group by text within a field

proctormap

I am trying to group by text within a specific field. I'm essentially searching a message content field called event. Within this event field, I am searching for specific errorCodes, but I also want to group by the error codes in the result. I'm not able to do an extraction because the message content is in xml format and I can't seem to extract the specific tag. Is there any way to handle this group by ask?

I want to group the results by unique values within my XML tag. If you couldn't tell...I'm new to this so I'm very appreciative of any guidance you can offer!

0 Karma

renjith_nair
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

You can use spath (http://docs.splunk.com/Documentation/Splunk/6.4.0/SearchReference/Spath) to extract the field from XML at search time.

or you can use kvmode in props

KV_MODE = [none|auto|multi|json|xml]
     * Used for search-time field extractions only.
     * Specifies the field/value extraction mode for the data.
     * Set KV_MODE to one of the following:
             * none: if you want no field/value extraction to take place.
             * auto: extracts field/value pairs separated by equal signs.
             * multi: invokes the multikv search command to expand a tabular event into multiple events.
         * xml : automatically extracts fields from XML data.
         * json: automatically extracts fields from JSON data.
     * Setting to 'none' can ensure that one or more user-created regexes are not overridden by
       automatic field/value extraction for a particular host, source, or source type, and also
       increases search performance.
     * Defaults to auto.
     * The 'xml' and 'json' modes will not extract any fields when used on data that isn't of the correct format (JSON or XML).
Happy Splunking!
0 Karma

proctormap