bob make        C1         Eng
Alice nelly     C2         Eng
Ashely gerard   C3         HR

And the second one "logapp.csv" has this form:

user_name       user_id    application   sing_in_date   account_validity
bob make        bob.m      app1          10/06/2014     01/05/2015
Alice nelly     alice.n    app2          5/01/2015      01/05/2017
Ashely gerard   ashely.g   app3          07/04/2014     01/05/2016

So the aim here is to retrieve all "users" that exists in the file "logapp.csv" that DO NOT exist in the first file "Collab.csv".
What I have done before is put the first one as a lookup file, and the second one I uploaded via "Add data". I tried all combinations to get results after search, but I was not successful. I'm new to Splunk and I need your help please.

Thank you

Tags (5)
0 Karma
1 Solution

MuS
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

Hi isedrof,

a quick and dirty approach is this:

| inputlookup logapp.csv | search NOT [ search source=Collab.csv | dedup user_name | table user_name ]

This will read the log app.csv and searches for all user_names that are not returned by the sub search on the other cvs file.

Hope that helps ...

cheers, MuS

View solution in original post

MuS
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

Hi isedrof,

a quick and dirty approach is this:

| inputlookup logapp.csv | search NOT [ search source=Collab.csv | dedup user_name | table user_name ]

This will read the log app.csv and searches for all user_names that are not returned by the sub search on the other cvs file.

Hope that helps ...

cheers, MuS

isedrof
Engager

Hey,
If we want to search in 2 lookups files in the same time instead of searching in one file.
thank you.

0 Karma

MuS
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

do it like this:
| inputlookup one | inputlookup append=t two | ...

0 Karma

isedrof
Engager

Thank your very much it works.

0 Karma

isedrof
Engager

Hey,