Splunk Search

How to capture trend over time with Splunk (using span or timechart)?

chaitanyabingu
Engager

Hello -

I'm a newbie to Splunk and i'm trying to chart timetaken by a process over a span of 3 days. Below is the log that will show up in Splunk every day.

2017-07-17-15:18:08,TOTALTIME=0:44:37

The way i'm doing it currently is a "bar graph" with time range (72 hrs) and it shows me 3 values of totaltime but its not very intuitive and i don't think time should be charted on a bar graph. Could someone show me how to do chart this with a span of like 3 days?

index=<index-name> host=<hostname>sourcetype="source-type" TOTALTIME="*"
0 Karma
1 Solution

mattymo
Splunk Employee
Splunk Employee

Here you go:

source="answers_timechart_proctime.txt" host="n00bserver" index="n00blab" sourcetype="answers_proc_totaltime_timechart"
| timechart span=1d values(TOTALTIME) AS TOTALTIME
| convert num(TOTALTIME) AS TOTALTIME

I converted the HH:MM:SS to seconds using the convert command to make it easier to graph. It can easily be converted to minutes id that is better as well..

Now it should be good to go in bar, line ot chart graphs!

alt text

- MattyMo

View solution in original post

0 Karma

mattymo
Splunk Employee
Splunk Employee

Here you go:

source="answers_timechart_proctime.txt" host="n00bserver" index="n00blab" sourcetype="answers_proc_totaltime_timechart"
| timechart span=1d values(TOTALTIME) AS TOTALTIME
| convert num(TOTALTIME) AS TOTALTIME

I converted the HH:MM:SS to seconds using the convert command to make it easier to graph. It can easily be converted to minutes id that is better as well..

Now it should be good to go in bar, line ot chart graphs!

alt text

- MattyMo
0 Karma

mattymo
Splunk Employee
Splunk Employee

Hi chaitanyabingu

Try this:

index= host=sourcetype="source-type" TOTALTIME="*"
| timechart span=5m avg(TOTALTIME) AS TOTALTIME_AVG, max(TOTALTIME) AS TOTALTIME_MAX, min(TOTALTIME) AS TOTALTIME_MIN by foo