Splunk Search

How do I extract a time field and use it as the y axis?

the_guillaume
Explorer

Hi,

This is probably a very easy thing to do, but I did not seem to find a suitable answer in the documentation yet. What I am trying to do is extract a time from my events and use that time as the y-axis for a line chart. What I am trying right now is the following:

`rex "\d:\d+:\d+\.\d+(?<TIME_TAKEN>)" | convert dur2sec(TIME_TAKEN) | chart first(TIME_TAKEN) by _time`

for events of the form: 0:13:23.233434

The trouble with this approach is that the "first(TIME_TAKEN)" column is empty. I would also like to keep this as a permanent chart - Following the videos there is a props.conf file to edit but I am not sure which. I am new to splunk.

Thanks for the help.

Tags (3)

sideview
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

Your starting point should be a timechart command, not chart by _time, because the latter is just a clumsy partial version of the former. Also I think chart doesnt always play nice with first and last, since chart is designed to work only with numeric data, and first is generally used for categorical data. Try this:

rex "\d:\d+:\d+.\d+(?<TIME_TAKEN>)" | convert dur2sec(TIME_TAKEN) | timechart sum(TIME_TAKEN) 

or you might try max() or min() or avg() instead of the sum. Or all of them together.

UPDATE: I think the problem was that your regex wasnt actually extracting your duration field: try this instead:

rex (?<TIME_TAKEN>\d:\d+:\d+.\d+)? | convert dur2sec(TIME_TAKEN) | timechart sum(TIME_TAKEN) 
0 Karma

the_guillaume
Explorer

You are right. The table is empty (I used small caps for both). Here is the result:http://www.flickr.com/photos/63543425@N07/5782440989/
But here is the result for another search: http://www.flickr.com/photos/63543425@N07/5783021226/

0 Karma

sideview
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

to take a step back and sanity check. Can you run

| rex (?\d:\d+:\d+.\d+)? | table TIME_TAKEN