Splunk Search

How do I append columns to a search via inputlookup where the field names do not match?

jguthrie71
Explorer

I'm relatively new to Splunk and I'm trying to use an existing lookup table to append columns to a search where the field name in the lookup table is not the same field name from the output of the search. i.e.

index=ti-p_tcr_reporter* source=tcr_reporter* earliest=-2d@d latest=-1d@d BOA_TICKETNUMBER="INC*" 
| stats count as Incidents by BOA_AIT 
| eval AppID=BOA_AIT 
| appendcols [inputlookup tcr_ait-info 
| fields AppID, AppFullName, AppStatus]

So BOA_AIT is the fieldname from the originating search that I want to lookup the value of which in tcr_ait-info table where the corresponding fieldname is AppID. Then, I want to append the columns AppFullName & AppStatus that correspond to the appropriate field BOA_AIT/AppID.

I'm probably miles off above but any assistance would be greatly appreciated.

0 Karma
1 Solution

jamesmoriarty
Explorer

Hello!

Have you checked out this link yet?

http://docs.splunk.com/Documentation/Splunk/7.2.1/SearchReference/Lookup

The lookup command does (I believe) what you're trying to do with appeldcols! They've got some info in there on using the "OUTPUTNEW" command where you can essentially tell Splunk "okay, the field in the lookup file is going to be named X, but the field in my search calls it Y."

Something you may want to consider is if your "eval AppID=BOA_AIT" pipe is necessary. Being able to tell Splunk field names in a search and a lookup table are named different but are the same might actually eliminate the need for that command. Does that answer your question or did that just bring up more questions? If you need more help with the lookup command syntax, there's a pretty cool post here:

https://answers.splunk.com/answers/588630/understanding-the-lookup-command.html

~James M

View solution in original post

jamesmoriarty
Explorer

Hello!

Have you checked out this link yet?