Splunk Search
Highlighted

Help with creating an index search based on the _time value (beginner)

Path Finder

Beginner here, I'm trying to run a search on unique logins for a web-based application. The current logs, however, do not indicate the information I need to be able to count which app the user logged into. 

It may be easier to illustrate the search:

Annotation 2020-07-09 120311.png

What I am trying to archive is on the _time value all those events (hidden) are triggered at the exact same time. I want to use that value as a unique ID to evaluate all the events that happened at that time as a group. 

The information I require is from a_app

Could some explain to me a way to archive this?

I guess in summary if the UserAuthicationQuery had an actual log that identified what the user was logging into it would then work but the a_app for this process is done in a central location and not associated with the actual app the user is entering.

Labels (1)
0 Karma
Highlighted

Re: Help with creating an index search based on the _time value (beginner)

SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

@Bassik,

As you said , it might not be accurate. However, if you want to get the app list for a user with time as a common factor (seconds' precision) , try this

"your search"
|eval timeIdentifier=strftime(_time,"%Y-%m-%d-%H-%M-%S")
|stats values(a_app)  as appList by timeIdentifier,cs_username

appList should have the list of apps. We converted time to string just to make sure that we take until seconds precision. You may user _time directly as well

0 Karma
Highlighted

Path Finder

Hi Renjith, thanks for assisting. This did help however, I still cannot collectively gather all other events that the _time variable is when associated with the UserAuthenticationQuery. 

I need the "timeIdentifier" to be the factor based on my search. I think there maybe a need to do a nested query here. Because now that I have "timeIdentifier", my next search would be something on the lines of: