Splunk Search

Help with creating an index search based on the _time value (beginner)

Bassik
Path Finder

Beginner here, I'm trying to run a search on unique logins for a web-based application. The current logs, however, do not indicate the information I need to be able to count which app the user logged into. 

It may be easier to illustrate the search:

Annotation 2020-07-09 120311.png

What I am trying to archive is on the _time value all those events (hidden) are triggered at the exact same time. I want to use that value as a unique ID to evaluate all the events that happened at that time as a group. 

The information I require is from a_app

Could some explain to me a way to archive this?

I guess in summary if the UserAuthicationQuery had an actual log that identified what the user was logging into it would then work but the a_app for this process is done in a central location and not associated with the actual app the user is entering.

Labels (1)
0 Karma

Bassik
Path Finder

As mentioned this is the closest I have:

Bassik_0-1594698391536.png

But it includes every event at those timestamps. I only want the timestamp in which a_action = UserAuthenticationQuery. if I include UserAuthenticationQuery  in search then it drops off all events. I don't know why it still doesn't append the multiple app values under appList field?

0 Karma

renjith_nair
Legend

ahh, why do you use stats in between ? It removes the UserAuthenticationQuery field from the results.

---
What goes around comes around. If it helps, hit it with Karma 🙂
0 Karma

Bassik
Path Finder

@renjith_nair 

So I should remove it? If I do, it doesn't change anything I still get 2,730 results. I grabbed this from you on the first page you mentioned:

@Bassik,

As you said , it might not be accurate. However, if you want to get the app list for a user with time as a common factor (seconds' precision) , try this

"your search"
|eval timeIdentifier=strftime(_time,"%Y-%m-%d-%H-%M-%S")