Splunk Search

Help with Splunk search based on eventType dynamic table value

dmuley
Explorer

Hello Team, I am new to splunk and have requirement to create table based on raw data

This is how the data looks in splunk

Date  threadId=ABC123   eventType=”InMsg” data=”<rootrq><a>hi</a></rootrq>”

Date  threadId=ABC123   eventType=”thirdPartyReq” data=”<root1req><a>hi</a></root1req>”

Date  threadId=ABC123   eventType=” thirdPartyRes” data=”<root1res><a>hi</a></root1res>”

Date  threadId=ABC123   eventType=”OutMsg” data=”<rootrs><a>hi</a></rootrs>”

and wanted to create table like below. Please can some one help? threadId is common for all four records.

index=test | 

date threadId InMsg OutMsg thirdPartyreq thirdprtyRes
date ABC123  

<rootrq><a>hi</a></rootrq>

<rootrs><a>hi</a></rootrs>

<root1req><a>hi</a></root1req>

<root1res><a>hi</a></root1res>

Labels (2)
0 Karma
1 Solution

ITWhisperer
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

Assuming you already have extracted these fields, you could do something like this

| eval {eventType}=data
| stats values(*) as * by Date threadId

View solution in original post

dmuley
Explorer

@ITWhisperer this works thank you. also do you mind in sharing how can I remove double quotes from xml String having attribute ? 

<root1res>
          <a  test="testdata">hi</a>
</root1res>

Currently after pulling info I m just receiving upto <a test=

I already tried   | eval data1=replace(data,"\"","")  but its not working

0 Karma

ITWhisperer
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

It sounds like your embedded quotes haven't been escaped and/or your extraction isn't taking embedded quotes into account. How are you extracting the data field?

dmuley
Explorer

frankly not sure. dealing with splunk admin from company tooks longer than fixing by our self. Is there any way to extract key value from xml ? @ITWhisperer I really appreciate your help on this. 

0 Karma

ITWhisperer
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust