Splunk Search

Get results in one chart

tkwaller
Builder

Hello

I am new to Splunk but have found it quite useful. My question is this:
I have 2 searches that looks in the log and finds a value that is either "RealTime" or "AdvancedSale".

I have tried the search in 2 ways:

• index=tt OrderIntegration.asmx "PlaceOrderResponse" "RealTime"| timechart span=1d count as NumberofRealTimeListings | join inner [search index=tt OrderIntegration.asmx "PlaceOrderResponse" "AdvancedSale" | timechart span=1d count as NumberofNonRealTimeListings]

Which works but the second search finds only 1 result and lists that on result for the entire span (I run it for a 7 day period)

• index=tt OrderIntegration.asmx "PlaceOrderResponse" "RealTime"| timechart span=1d count as NumberofRealTimeListings | append [search index=tt OrderIntegration.asmx "PlaceOrderResponse" "AdvancedSale" | timechart span=1d count as NumberofNonRealTimeListings]

This works correctly but appends (which it should) the results to the end of the graph making it a long graph and not placing the two on top of each other.

Any ideas what I am doing incorrectly or what I can do to correct this?
Thank you!

Tags (2)
0 Karma
1 Solution

Ayn
Legend

I think you should ditch the second search altogether and merge it into the first instead. Then use eval statements in your timechart to separate the two.

index=tt OrderIntegration.asmx "PlaceOrderResponse" ("RealTime" OR "AdvancedSale") | timechart span=1d count(eval(searchmatch("RealTime"))) as NumberofRealTimeListings, count(eval(searchmatch("AdvancedSale"))) as NumberofNonRealTimeListings

View solution in original post

0 Karma

Ayn
Legend

I think you should ditch the second search altogether and merge it into the first instead. Then use eval statements in your timechart to separate the two.