Splunk Search

Find which hosts a user has not logged in to

gsd

Newbie here, so please be kind!

Not sure if this is even possible, but I need to find out if a user has never logged in to a host. So far I have this:

sourcetype="WMI:UserAccounts" user="Bob" | stats count by host

That gives me the hosts Bob has logged in to, but not the hosts that Bob has not logged in to (which is what I need).

Can this be done?

0 Karma
1 Solution

martin_mueller
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

Thinking about this a bit more, you should be able to do what the OP needs without a subsearch:

sourcetype="WMI:UserAccounts" | stats count(eval(User="Bob")) as bobcount by host | where bobcount=0

View solution in original post

martin_mueller
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

Thinking about this a bit more, you should be able to do what the OP needs without a subsearch:

sourcetype="WMI:UserAccounts" | stats count(eval(User="Bob")) as bobcount by host | where bobcount=0

gsd

marti_mueller - this query worked! Thanks for your help!

0 Karma

gsd

hi R.Turk - Thanks for the quick response. I was able to get the answer this way, but only partially (the subsearch auto-finalized after 60 seconds). I've been lurking the splkunk>answers site and it seems like there is an issue with subsearches timing out.

0 Karma

bmacias84
Champion

Welcome, In terms of performance sub searches consume two CPUs ( one for the main search and one for the subsearch). Subsearches have a significantly lower returned event limit. Performing using field extractions in your base search is costlier as Splunk has to apply extracts immediately. I recommend specifying index if possible. Consider using fields before performing any stats or eval this will improve search performance as Splunk only has to work with result necessary for final output.

#if you are looking just for bob
index=myindex sourcetype="WMI:UserAccounts" Bob | dedup host | fields host

The easiest way without the expense of a sub search.