Splunk Search

Custom Conditions

exd42062
Path Finder

I am new to splunk and want to create an alert for switch ports that flap. So, I need a way to alert if a port on a given switch goes up and down more than a certain number of times per minute. How can I setup the search/alert for that? Below is an example of the search results.

Oct  9 12:01:18 hos-a-3550-1.rockefeller.internal 2635634: Oct  9 12:01:17: %LINEPROTO-5-UPDOWN: Line protocol on Interface FastEthernet0/3, changed state to down
1 Solution

exd42062
Path Finder

mysearch | rex "Interface (?[^, ]*), changed state to (?\w+)" | table interface state

I saw your other post looking to help me with this. Thanks. YannK seems to know this stuff pretty well. This should be enough to get me started. Not sure why the IFX did not work well, but I can figure that out later.

View solution in original post

0 Karma

exd42062
Path Finder

mysearch | rex "Interface (?[^, ]*), changed state to (?\w+)" | table interface state

I saw your other post looking to help me with this. Thanks. YannK seems to know this stuff pretty well. This should be enough to get me started. Not sure why the IFX did not work well, but I can figure that out later.

0 Karma

mikaelbje
Motivator

Why don't you try the Cisco IOS app out? All the extractions are there. You just need to set up the alert.

0 Karma

exd42062
Path Finder

Nevermind....I failed to read the doc about the dependencies...silly me. I got it installed properly now. I will see if it does what I want. I really wanted to learn the regex stuff, but maybe this will get me by for now. Thanks.

0 Karma

exd42062
Path Finder

I just tried your suggestion and after installing the app it gives me 4 errors while loading saying it cannot find search module and it has been loading for 15 minutes with no apparent progress. This won't work for me.

0 Karma

twinspop
Influencer