Splunk Search

Correlate multiple log sources

ElliottP

I am new to Splunk and would really appreciate some guidance or advice on how to do the following:

I have some log files that I wish to build a search/report that correlates them. I have loaded them into Splunk as separate log sources via the "Choose Data From File or Directory" option. I followed the documentation to do this and they now appear as separate log sources in the search app.

The logs are of the following systems:
IDP/S
Firewall
NAT
DHCP
Domain Controller
Antivirus

I wish to correlate them by linking together certain fields of each source type to create a report of an instance of network incident such as malware threat picked up by Antivirus. This should then show the full path, step by step through the log sources above.

I am conducting this for a university project on logs that I have generated. I would really be grateful for any help or guidance anybody can offer.

Many thanks,

Elliott

Tags (1)
0 Karma

tgow
Splunk Employee
Splunk Employee

There many different methods for solving this in Splunk but probably the easiest method initially is to create field aliases. For instance if you want to track an ip address through your systems then you can come up with a common name for the source ip which will make it easier to use search commands such as "stats" or "transaction". Keep in mind that this is just one of many methods in Splunk.

Let's imagine that we have several sources and the ip address has a different field name in each sourcetype.

sourcetype=firewall src_ip=10.10.10.10
sourcetype=ids source=10.10.10.10
sourcetype=WinEventLog:Security Source_Network_Address=10.10.10.10
etc....

Now you just need to come up with a common name and alias the unique names to it. Field aliasing can be done in either the props.conf file or in the UI (Manager-->Fields-->Field aliases). Here is a props.conf example:

[firewall]
FIELDALIAS-src = src_ip AS src

[ids]
FIELDALIAS-src = source AS src