Splunk Search

Comparing sum results between several days

KaitoKozo
Explorer

I am trying to average the sum of power consumption readings between 2 days and compare that sum to a 3rd day. If the 3rd day’s total power consumption is 20% higher than the average of the previous 2 days, I would like to flag the day as having more power consumption than usual.

The main issue I have is in trying to do this comparison as I’m unsure if it’s possible to store data as variables similar to programming and am unable to do the full search/compute/compare in 1 line, in particular trying to target “specific dates relative to current date”.

I am having difficulty trying to implement my logic process in splunk as I am still relatively new to the system and am unsure about the capabilities and syntax of this platform.

Labels (3)
0 Karma
1 Solution

scelikok
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

Hi @KaitoKozo,

Please try below;

index=power_consumption earliest=-3d@d
| timechart span=1d sum(consumption) as consumption
| streamstats window=2 current=f avg(consumption) as last2days
| tail 1
| where last2days>0 AND consumption>last2days*1.2

If this reply helps you an upvote and "Accept as Solution" is appreciated.

View solution in original post

scelikok
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

Hi @KaitoKozo,

Please try below;

index=power_consumption earliest=-3d@d
| timechart span=1d sum(consumption) as consumption
| streamstats window=2 current=f avg(consumption) as last2days
| tail 1
| where last2days>0 AND consumption>last2days*1.2

If this reply helps you an upvote and "Accept as Solution" is appreciated.

KaitoKozo
Explorer

Thanks! This has helped a bunch! However, I'm now getting an error that it has the '>' operator received different types in the where command.