Splunk Search

Combine results from subsearches

ronaldsc

Hello all,

I'm a newbie to Splunk so I'm hoping someone can assist me figuring out how to accomplish the following.

On a regular basis I have to search two sets of logs. I'd like to be able to knock it out in one go if possible while at the same time have the ability to display the results I need correctly.

The first search I run is:

index=network sourcetype=analysisFiles file_accessed="zip"  | stats  count by srcip, hostname, data

Which I then gather up the srcip and run the following search to gather the user information from another set of logs:

index=analysisFilesUserAccess srcip="src_ipFromAboveResults" | stats count by user, srcip

I figured out how to do a subsearch to pull the account information based on the results from the first search doing the following

index=analysisFilesUserAccess * [search index=network sourcetype=analysisFiles file_accessed="zip" | fields srcip |mvcombine delim=" OR " srcip | nomv srcip | rename srcip as search]

The problem I'm running into and cant figure out is how to show results from both searches. The subsearch only returns fields related to the second search and I can't seem to table or run stats based on the fields from the first. Ideally what I'd like to be able to do is align the srcip from both searches and append the results from the first. I'd still like to be able to see the same results as running |count by srcip, hostname, data but add the username by the matching srcip from both searches.

For example current results from each search when run independently looks as follows:

First Search

srcip        hostname     count
  192.168.1.49  hostName1       10
  192.168.1.98  hostName1       58

Second Search

user       srcip            count
  user01       192.168.1.49       10
  user02       192.168.1.98       58