Splunk Search

Combine results from multiple queries

p0r049z
Engager

I am new to splunk queries and was trying to combine results from multiple queries without using subsearches due to its limitation of restricting subsearches to 50000 results but our dataset has more than 50000 records to be considered. Below is the query I was trying

(index="B"  logType="REQUEST") OR( index="B" logType="TRACES" message="searchString1*") OR (index="B" logType="TRACES" message="searchString2*")
| stats latest(*) as * by Id

All above queries have the id field in the result which match and correspond to some kind of a correlation id between these logs. I would like to have the end result show all the common fields which has same values, but also with message field having the consolidated message content from the individual queries made on the same index B. The message field alone can have different values between the queries and need to be consolidated on the result. Can someone help on how this can be done ?

@splunk 

Labels (4)
Tags (3)
0 Karma
1 Solution

richgalloway
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

It sounds like you need the values function.

(index="B"  logType="REQUEST") OR( index="B" logType="TRACES" message="searchString1*") OR (index="B" logType="TRACES" message="searchString2*")
| stats values(message) as messages, latest(*) as * by Id

---
If this reply helps you, Karma would be appreciated.

View solution in original post

richgalloway
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

It sounds like you need the values function.

(index="B"  logType="REQUEST") OR( index="B" logType="TRACES" message="searchString1*") OR (index="B" logType="TRACES" message="searchString2*")

---

p0r049z
Engager

thanks @richgalloway  for the response! This indeed helps. Can I extend the question also to understand how I can enforce that the individual searches between the OR conditions return result for sure and only then combine the results (similar to inner join) using Id field?

0 Karma

ITWhisperer
SplunkTrust