Splunk Search

Base search query for different dashboard panels

bagarwal
Path Finder

Hello Everyone,

I am new to base search and need some help from you.

With the help of base search, I want to prepare a dashboard where can get the display of different applications installed in the network respectively. e.g. no of Chrome, Mozilla, Skype , etc in different panels.

Filtering search query likely Product_name = "Chrome" OR Product_name="Skype"

Note: Using -- instead of html tag as it is not allowing while posting this post. Thanks for understanding.

Base query what I have written is:
--search id="product_name>
“index="index_name" (ProductName=#1# OR ProductName=#2# OR ProductName=#3# OR etc.) | dedup host, ProductName | stats count
--/search>

and the main query:
--search base="product_name">
--query> stats count --/query>
--/search>

Basically , where I got stuck is I want the stats count but while filtering product name do I need to mention in the base query or later in the main query and how to do that for different product_name in different dashboard panels referring to base search.

Please help.

Thanks in advance,

Binay Agarwal

Tags (2)
0 Karma
1 Solution

rjthibod
Champion

First, note that you can post code/xml is readable format using the button on the text format toolbar that looks like two rows of binary numbers. That will give you a text box to enter code. You can also use the back-tick character to wrap code.

Now, getting to your question. It seems like you left some details from your original post. If I interpreted things correct, my guess is you want to display the number of hosts for specific products. Is that correct?

If so, you would want to do the following. Note, you were missing <query></query> in your base search, and the use of dedup is unnecessary if you are just counting hosts by ProductName.

<!-- your base search -->
<search id="product_name>
  <query>