Splunk Enterprise

extract and count the word occurring in a log

BasicLearner
Loves-to-Learn Everything

I am new to splunk. The answer can help me learn more.

I have a message in log which looks something like 

k45ksp: k45kspProcessControlBuff task 1 (p_id: 2).

I need to just extract  k45kspProcessControlBuff from above message field  and count how many times it has occurred in a log.

Labels (1)
Tags (1)
0 Karma

BasicLearner

Hi PicleRick,

1. I have one common index for all the source matching my search.

2. The search term occurs more than once in my log and I get many such logs from the index in a day.

3. I need to count how many times the search term occurs throughout my  log. I use | dedup logid so that I am not counting the same log again.

Hope I have correctly answered your doubts. Plz let me know in case...

Thank You. 

0 Karma

ITWhisperer
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

Add "k45kspProcessControlBuff" to your search then stats count

0 Karma

BasicLearner

Hi  ITWhisperer,

Thank you for the reply. 

I think I need to reframe my question.

I have a sentence in a log which looks something like 

In the log, the string "k45kspProcessControlBuff" may occur more than once and there can be more 10 such logs in a day.

I need to count/display how many times this string has occurred in each log in a day.

Using just stats count did not work.

0 Karma

ITWhisperer
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

What have you tried?

0 Karma

BasicLearner

Hi 

I  tried this search which gives me total number of occurrences in a day . 

index=* component=*  k45kspProcessControlBuff  earliest=-1d@d

| stats count

But I actually want to list/display/count how many times it occurred in one log  and also against the total logs in each day.

Thank You.

0 Karma

ITWhisperer
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

I am not sure what you mean by log but you could count by source which might amount to the same thing?

| stats count by source
0 Karma

BasicLearner

Thank you for your help and support..