Splunk Enterprise

User Account that UF wants when installing it- does this have to be a local service account?

TopcaT668
Explorer

Hi,

Utter Noob here - I apologise for any really silly questions!

I'm installing Universal Forwarder to several machines which will forward data to a further intermediate instance, and then on to Enterprise.

My question is around the User Account that UF wants when I'm installing it.  does this have to be a local service account or can it be a Domain User account?  I'm asking as when I on a domain joined machine, I have created a SplunkAdmin local user, but when I go to the Local Security  Policy > Local Policies>User Rights Assignment > Log in as a service to add the local account the account is not shown, just the Domain accounts and groups.

Does this mean I need to create a Splunk account at the domain (AD) level and use it on all machines where I am installing Splunk Universal Forwarder? 

Thanks any and all help!

Labels (2)
0 Karma

TopcaT668
Explorer

This may be my misunderstanding - I need Splunk UF to be running and exporting data about the machine when no-one is logged on.  There are five machines involved, three which forward logs to a fourth also running UF, which then forwards to a Splunk Enterprise instance.   I am I'll admin quite confused, however I believe (but it is likely wrong) that to allow the service to continue to operate once all human users are logged off it needs a service account?

My next issue if that's true is that these are all Domain Joined, so I don;t seem to be able to create a local machine service account, I may need a domain Managed Service account.  I'm chasing down a rabbit hole I fear! 🙂

0 Karma

PickleRick
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

As @richgalloway mentioned - there are two different accounts at play here.