Splunk Enterprise

Time average on Dashboard - Two scenarios

vnkotak
Engager

Hi,
I am new to splunk and trying to find average data for below two scenarios.

Scenario 1 - Employer Request / Response data without ID.
In my log file, I have logs for request received and response sent without any id to understand which response is against which request.
E.g. Sample data

16-02-2017 17:00:32:329 Employer Request Received
16-02-2017 17:00:33:734 Employer Request Received
16-02-2017 17:00:34:532 Employer Response Sent
16-02-2017 17:00:37:454 Employer Response Sent

In above scenario, I have two request received one at 32 secs at 5pm and response was sent on 34 secs, that is transaction took 2 secs to process and second request was received at 33 secs and response was sent on 37 secs, so it took 4 secs to process.

I want a DASHBOARD panel to show that how many request are received and what is the average time, that is (2+4)/2 = 3 secs in these scenario.

Scenario 2 - Customer Request / Response data with ID.
In my log file, I have logs for request received and response sent with id .
E.g. Sample data

16-02-2017 17:00:39:329 Customer Request Received. ID - 1234
16-02-2017 17:00:42:734 Customer Request Received. ID - 2345
16-02-2017 17:00:45:532 Customer Response Sent. ID - 1234
16-02-2017 17:00:52:454 Customer Response Sent. ID - 2345

Similar to above, need average on DASHBOARD as well as REPORT that how much each transaction too.

Transaction id Request Time Response Time Total Time (in secs)
1234 16-02-2017 17:00:39:329 16-02-2017 17:00:45:532 6
2345 16-02-2017 17:00:42:734 16-02-2017 17:00:52:454 10

Dashboard
Employer Transaction number of request received and average which shows 3 secs .
Customer Transaction number of request received and average which shows 8 secs.

Please help.

Tags (1)
0 Karma

DalJeanis
Legend

The good news is, the AVERAGE transaction time can be calculated without knowing which event goes with which other event.