Splunk Cloud Platform

Splunk Cloud Licnese

Vnarunart
Explorer

Hi, I need help as I'm new to Splunk and was assigned this role by a resigned administrator. I need to find out the expiration date of our Splunk Cloud license.

I can't access the menu: Settings > System > Permissions (I've checked the assigned user's capabilities but there are no permissions for license_edit, license_read, license_tab, or license_view_warnings).

Is it possible that there's a license manager somewhere on-premise since we're using Heavy Forwarder and Deployment Server?

Please advise on what I can do if I can't contact the previous administrator.
What information should I gather beforehand to be ready to open a Support Ticket?

I apologize if I've misunderstood anything.

0 Karma
1 Solution

Vnarunart
Explorer

I found that I need a Splunk cloud account (a member of Cloud Stack/Instances) to access the data, which the user I previously had did not have. However, I would like to thank everyone for their efforts in helping me this time.

I’m grateful for your mentorship.

View solution in original post

0 Karma

Vnarunart
Explorer

I found that I need a Splunk cloud account (a member of Cloud Stack/Instances) to access the data, which the user I previously had did not have. However, I would like to thank everyone for their efforts in helping me this time.

I’m grateful for your mentorship.

0 Karma

richgalloway
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

Contact your Splunk account team for information about your Splunk Cloud license.   They also can help ensure you have entitlement to submit support cases.

If you're running heavy forwarders and a DS then you have an on-prem LM (perhaps shared with the DS).  However, I would not expect the expiration date of that license to match the expiration date of the Splunk Cloud license (it's possible, but not guaranteed).

---
If this reply helps you, Karma would be appreciated.
0 Karma

Vnarunart
Explorer

Thanks for the advice, I appreciate it.