Security

user addition issue

Contributor

I add users in authentication.conf. I push them to SH. The updated file resides on .../primary/..
But when i reload (which i have to do for some reason), a new copy of authentication.conf is automatically created and is placed in ../etc/system/local/

this system/local copy overrides the one in primary.

Now i have to delete this system/local copy every time i add users to see newly added users in UI.

Is there a way to avoid this step ?

Tags (3)
0 Karma
1 Solution

Splunk Employee
Splunk Employee

Which authentication.conf are you adding users to? Are you manually adding via the auth.conf or via the Splunk Web UI? I also don't understand your reference to ../primary/..

They should be added to:

$SPLUNK_HOME/etc/system/local/authentication.conf.

The system should never overwrite anything in your:

$SPLUNK_HOME/etc/system/local/

directory as a general rule.

View solution in original post

0 Karma

Splunk Employee
Splunk Employee

Which authentication.conf are you adding users to? Are you manually adding via the auth.conf or via the Splunk Web UI? I also don't understand your reference to ../primary/..

They should be added to:

$SPLUNK_HOME/etc/system/local/authentication.conf.

The system should never overwrite anything in your:

$SPLUNK_HOME/etc/system/local/

directory as a general rule.

View solution in original post

0 Karma
State of Splunk Careers

Access the Splunk Careers Report to see real data that shows how Splunk mastery increases your value and job satisfaction.

Find out what your skills are worth!