Reporting

Wrong host identifier in SYSLOG messages

avamereit

I am new to Splunk and I am sure my question is not new to the community. I have 220 Cisco endpoints reporting SYSLOG data to Splunk. All seems to be working well - except the logging of successful and failed login attempts. These messages are making it to Splunk but they are being identified as coming from host "pst" - not the host's IP address. Subsequently I cannot tell which message belongs to which host. I have about 100,000 of these failed login messages and I need to deal with them but I can't tell which Cisco devices are under attack.

0 Karma

avamereit

That was my thought as well - yes we are in the PST time zone. What puzzles me is that the source type "syslog" does just fin figuring out all the other messages but it has a hard time with these.

0 Karma

lukejadamec
Super Champion

I'm guessing that for some reason Splunk is thinking the timezone from the message is the host name, and I'm guessing that the switch is set to the PST timezone.

0 Karma

avamereit

SEC_LOGIN-4-LOGIN_FAILED

0 Karma

lukejadamec
Super Champion

What is the message ID? Cisco has a message ID for every type of log entry.

0 Karma

avamereit

I submitted a "host=pst | table _raw" and looked at the output. It seems the host info is not there. Not sure where this leaves me.

0 Karma

kristian_kolb
Ultra Champion

Any data that is configured (by you) to have the sourcetype syslog will pass through a transformation process, where the hostname is extracted from each event, on a per event basis. Typically this is something you would want to do, if you were collecting events from an existing syslog server. Instead of having the syslog server's hostname/ip-address as originator of these events, this process will extract and rewrite the hostname from each event. This is founded on the assumption that the hostname can be found in the expected place in the message.