Installation

Woke Up to Pool and License Warnings

dynamicdoyle
Engager

PoolLicenseWarning

I'm a 19 year old student who just installed Splunk yesterday, so please don't be afraid to assume I hardly know anything.
Here's my computer specs, if needed:
Lenovo X220T Convertible Tablet
i7 2620M 2.7GHz
7.89GB RAM
Samsung SSD 830 Series
64-bit Windows 7
Splunk 5.0.1 x64

If the picture doesn't show above, I have two pool warnings and one permanent license warning. With my limited understanding, I believe that if I get three permanent warnings, my "Search" app is disabled until I have less than three permanent warnings in the last thirty days. Indexing doesn't stop during that time, however, and I think I would still be able to view dashboards.

I went here http://docs.splunk.com/Documentation/Splunk/5.0.1/Admin/Managingappobjects#Uninstall_an_app
to try and figure out how to uninstall the Browsing history app, because it appears as though that app is responsible for exceeding my 500MB per day limit. I don't want this app anymore, let alone need it. I just wanted to try it out yesterday without any idea that it could cause this problem. Unfortunately, I don't understand how to execute the code instructions they give - am I to enter this in my browser, command prompt, or go to the file directory in windows explorer? I tried going to C:\Program Files\Splunk\etc\apps with no luck in finding the Browsing history app folder.

I also went here
http://docs.splunk.com/Documentation/Splunk/5.0.1/Indexer/RemovedatafromSplunk#Remove_an_index_entir...
because it seems as though my problem isn't the app, it's the indexing of MB of information that the app uses. So uninstalling the app wouldn't stop the indexing, and therefore wouldn't solve my Permanent-warnings-exceeding-three-in-a-thirty-day-period problem.

Can someone tell me what I'm doing wrong, or provide a more detailed step by step approach to removing an index and an app in laymen's terms?

aelliott
Motivator