Getting Data In

timestamp from XML multivalue

jbanhome

Hello,

I am new to Splunk and I have task where I need to configure timestamp from XML file.

<root>
    <day>11</day>
    <month>11</month>   
    <year>17</year>
    <time>123055<time>
    … 
</root>

Do you have any hint how to configure this.

If I understand this correctly I must use transforms.conf to parse day, month, year and time into timestamp because with timestamp I cannot take date from multi-value?
And then after trasform I can use something like %d%m%y %H%M%S

You dont need to write regex or anything, please just point me into right direction so I can try to figure it out.

Thank you,

Tags (3)
0 Karma

dineshraj9
Builder

Try something like this in props.conf -

TIME_PREFIX = day\>
TIME_FORMAT = %d\<\/day\>[\r\n\s]+\<month\>%m\<\/month\>[\r\n\s]+\<year\>%y\<\/year\>[\r\n\s]+\<time\>%H%M%S\<time\>
MAX_TIMESTAMP_LOOKAHEAD = 100

If you want to do it at search time, then extract all time fields and then set the _time(with epoch time) field and it will reflect across all events.

0 Karma

cstump_splunk
Splunk Employee
Splunk Employee

Quick Update for Splunk 7.1.0.

To get the Time_Format to extract a time stamp in 7.1.0 you can use @dineshraj9 answer if you lose the escape characters ().

A colleague and I were trying to extract a timestamp across multiple xml tags:
<fiveminute id="28"><date><year>2018</year><month>05</month><day>22</day></date><time><hour>17</hour><minute>05</minute></time><rx>578489</rx><tx>1800555</tx></fiveminute>

We were able to get the timestamp extracted in 7.1.0 with the following configurations:
[sourcetype]
TIME_PREFIX = year\>
TIME_FORMAT = %Y%m%d%H%M

Notice that the escape character was used in the TIME_PREFIX, that value is still regex, but the TIME_FORMAT is not regex and therefore does not make use of the escape character.

jbanhome

Unfortunatelly still no luck.

props.conf is something like this
[test2xml]
DATETIME_CONFIG =
MAX_TIMESTAMP_LOOKAHEAD = 150