Getting Data In

change index for some events

yudzhin
Explorer

Hello splunkers. I am new to splunk and have a question on how to change index for events that e.g. have status 404 on index time?  
props.conf 

[weblogs]
LINE_BREAKER = (&&&)
NO_BINARY_CHECK = true
REPORT-access = access-extractions
SHOULD_LINEMERGE = false
maxDist = 28
TRANSFORMS-change = notfound,changesourcetype

transforms.conf

[notfound]
REGEX = ".+?"\s(404)
DEST_KEY = MetaData:Index
FORMAT = index::notfoundindex

[changesourcetype]
DEST_KEY = MetaData:Sourcetype
REGEX = ^(.*)
FORMAT = sourcetype::access_combined

example of event:

141.146.8.66 - - [13/Jan/2016 21:03:09:200] "POST /category.screen?category_id=SURPRISE&JSESSIONID=SD1SL2FF5ADFF3 HTTP 1.1" 200 3496 "http://www.myflowershop.com/cart.do?action=view&itemId=EST-16&product_id=RP-SN-01" "Mozilla/5.0 (Macintosh; U; Intel Mac OS X 10_6_3; en-US) AppleWebKit/533.4 (KHTML, like Gecko) Chrome/5.0.375.38 Safari/533.4" 294

Changing of sourcetype works fine, but index changing doesn't and I really do not know where the mistake is.

Labels (1)
0 Karma
1 Solution

gcusello
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

Hi @yudzhin ,

At first I don't understand why you want to put 404 events in a different index!

Remember that usually in Splunk are used different indexes basing on two parameters:

• different grants of access,
  • different retention periods.

You can differentiate events using sourcetype or another field, don't think to Splunk as a DB table with fields.

Anyway, I see two things probably not correct:

• in props.conf, you're using two transformations in one command, I prefer to use two different transformations:

TRANSFORMS-notfound = notfound
TRANSFORMS-change = changesourcetype

• I cannot check the regex in notfound stanza, but I don't see, in your sample, anything that could be matched by that regex, could you share a sample with 404?

Anyway, if in your sample 200 is the posizion of 404, you could try this regex in notfound stanza