Getting Data In

Why are my logs sent to the default index?

Mystica856
Explorer

Greetings all,

I am new to Splunk and trying to know my way around it. I created a home lab environment with the following details:
* 1 search head, 1 indexer, and 1 Heavy forwarder ( All Linux).
* 1 Universal forwarder ( my desktop).

Right now, my windows logs are being sent from the Universal Forwarder to Heavy forwarder on TCP port 9998 (random port #). Then, the Heavy Forwarder receives on 9998 and sends on to the indexer on 9997. I can search from the search head and receive all data however they all go to index=main.

I tried the following:
* modify inputs.conf in Heavy forwarder with the following:
[tcp://mydesktopIP:9998]

index = desktop

• I also tried to modify the inputs.conf file in the launcher app: [splunktcp://9998] index = desktop ====

None of the options above worked. Also kindly note that I ensured that the indexes.conf file in my indexer has the "desktop" index information.

Thanks in advance.

0 Karma

gcusello
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

Hi Mystica856,
destination index must be set in each stanza of each inputs.conf file of Universal Forwarders not of Heavy Forwarder or Indexer.
On heavy Forwarder, destination index must be set only for local logs, nof from Universal Forwarders.

It's also possible to change destination index on Indexers (see https://docs.splunk.com/Documentation/Splunk/6.6.2/Data/Advancedsourcetypeoverrides ), in other words:
in props.conf

[mysourcetype]
 TRANSFORMS-index = overrideindex

in transforms.conf

[overrideindex]
 DEST_KEY =_MetaData:Index
 REGEX = .
 FORMAT = new_index

Bye.
Giuseppe

Mystica856
Explorer