Getting Data In

Unable to see data in fields on Splunk 6

afhussain
Explorer

I am fairly new to splunk so please pardon any beginner's mistakes:

I am trying to setup Splunk to receive csv files via Universal Forwarder on windows 2k3 server and use header of the file to attach fields. I have done following:

On the universal forwarder:
[monitor://c:\some directory]
disabled = false
sourcetype = SBRAccounting
index=sbr
crcSalt =

On the Splunk server where indexer and search head are same, i created a new custom app and the /opt/splunk/etc/apps/SBRAccounting/local, I created props.conf file with following content:
[SBRAccounting]
HEADER_FIELD_LINE_NUMBER = 1
FIELD_DELIMITER = ,
FIELD_QUOTE = "

I see the data coming into Splunk with sourcetype=SBRAccounting and index=sbr but fields are not there.

I created a dummy file on the Splunk server and created inputs.conf file with following to prove props.conf file is configured correctly, and it seems to show field along with the data.
[monitor:///var/tmp/dummy.act]
sourcetype=SBRAccounting

Sample of the data is following:

"field1", "field2", "field3", ... 'field100"
"data1", "data2", "data3",,,,,,,,"data(n)"
"data1", "data2", "data3",,,,,,,,"data(n)"

I feel that data coming in via forwarders is not being passed by my custom apps's props.conf file. I even created an inputs.conf file with following and that didn't work either.
[splunktcp://:7001]
sourcetype=SBRAccounting

I need your help please.

Thanks

Tags (3)

rsennett_splunk
Splunk Employee
Splunk Employee

Reading carefully through the doc it looks like the props.conf on both the forwarder and the indexer need to contain the directives that explain what to do with the header.

http://docs.splunk.com/Documentation/Splunk/6.0/Data/Extractfieldsfromfileheadersatindextime

So while your experiment has you half way there, and you might have accidentally hit pay dirt, it isn't quite aligned yet.