Getting Data In

Linux Script output is different from _raw

isaacsu
Explorer

Hi all,

I've written script in "/opt/splunk/etc/deployment-apps/testing/bin" named test1.sh which gives me an expected result what i intend the script to be used for.

Script Content.

#!/bin/sh

HEADER='CPU    pctIdle'
HEADERIZE="BEGIN {print \"$HEADER\"}"
PRINTF='END {printf "%-3s  %9.1f\n", CPU, pctIdle}'
AWK=awk
CMD='top -n 1'
PARSE_0='NR==3 {CPU="all"} NR==3 {pctIdle=$8}'

$CMD | $AWK "$HEADERIZE $PARSE_0 $PRINTF"  header="$HEADER"

Script Results

CPU    pctIdle
all       94.9

However, upon running "/opt/splunk/bin/splunk reload deploy-server". The _ raw values of which i receive from my events are all as such.

CPU    pctIdle

Can i get some insights on why is this so?

0 Karma
1 Solution

sumanssah
Communicator

I am not good with the script, however just to apprise to monitor CPU usage on Unix box you can use "Splunk Add-on for Unix and Linux"

https://splunkbase.splunk.com/app/833/

You can also find a script for CPU monitoring file and script in /bin/cpu.sh

View solution in original post

woodcock
Esteemed Legend

Generally what happens is that when you run it manually, you are receiving the benefit of the PATH environment variable associated with your user. However, when Splunk runs it as user = splunk, this user has a different value for PATH or maybe no value at all, which means that in your scripts, you should *ALWAYS* fully-qualify the path to every command. So your script would look something like this:

#!/bin/sh
HEADER='CPU    pctIdle'
PRINTF='END {printf "%-3s  %9.1f\n", CPU, pctIdle}'
AWK="/usr/bin/awk"
CMD='/usr/bin/top -n 1'
PARSE_0='NR==3 {CPU="all"} NR==3 {pctIdle=$8}'
$CMD | $AWK "$HEADERIZE $PARSE_0 $PRINTF"  header="$HEADER"

Your coding is very awkwardly convoluted. It should be half as long with no variables at all.

0 Karma

isaacsu
Explorer